People Associated with CEMI in the Past

From 2002 to 2007 while CEMI was part of the UWA Business School a number of people either worked within the centre, undertook research via it, or were members of its industry advisory board.

CEMI employed several UWA MBA and Post Doctoral Graduates who worked in the centre as research assistants and project managers. The photo shown here is [from left to right] of Dr. Douglas Adam, Research Coordinator; Professor Tim Mazzarol, CEMI Director; Andrew Moore, Program Manager Innovation; and Jane-Ann Barnes, Training Coordinator.
In addition to the centre’s staff and associates a large number of students from the UWA MBA program also undertook projects either individually or in groups for a wide range of organisations. CEMI served as a focal point for industry outreach within the Graduate School of Management (GSM) at UWA.
These projects included undertaking industry consultancies for organisations such as:
  • Armadale Development Authority
  • City of Belmont
  • City of Subiaco
  • CSIRO Livestock Industries
  • Department of Agriculture and Food of WA
  • Department of Culture and the Arts of WA
  • Department of Education and Training of WA
  • Department of Industry and Resources of WA
  • Disability Services Commission
  • Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council
  • Great Southern Development Commission
  • Small Business Development Corporation
  • State West Credit Society
  • Water Corporation
  • Western Geotechnics
  • Woodside Ltd

CEMI Industry Advisory Committee 2003-2007

During the period 2003-2007 when CEMI was a centre within the University of Western Australia it was guided by an Industry Advisory Committee (IAC) comprising a number of high profile people from government and industry. CEMI owes a debt of gratitude to these individuals who gave their time voluntarily to assist the development of the centre.

Alphabetical order:

Ms Jenny Archibald, Managing Director Fractal Technologies Pty Ltd
Mr Steve Arnott, Assistant Director Industry Development, WA Department of Industry and Resources (DOIR)
Ms Sciona Browne, Executive Director, Evandale House Group
Mr Conrad Chrisafulli, Commercialisation Manager Curtin University of Technology
The Hon Hendy Cowan, inaugural Chair of the CEMI IAC
Dr Bruce Hobbs, former Deputy Chief CSIRO and former Chief Scientist of WA
Dr Rob Newman, Investment Director Foundation Capital Ltd
Professor Malcolm Richmond, Chair of the CEMI IAC
Mr John Rothwell, CEO of Austal Ships Ltd
Dr Saliba Sassine, CEO Visionmed Group Ltd
Professor Geoffrey Soutar, Director, Graduate School of Management, University of Western Australia
Peter Viney, State Manager of AUSINDUSTRY and Deputy Secretary of the WA Department of Industry and Resources (DOIR)
Dr James Williams, Director Tessitura Pty Ltd and AusBiotech State Convener